Criminal Defense in Your Neck of the Woods
The offense of battery occurs when a person:
1. Actually and intentionally touches or strikes another person against the will of the other; or
2. Intentionally causes bodily harm to another person.
A misdemeanor battery charge is punishable by up to one year in jail, one year probation, and a $1000 fine or any combination thereof. A battery need not cause injury for the Office of the State Attorney to file charges. Further, there have been cases where a person does not every make bodily contact; rather, spits on an individual or pours a drink on an individual and finds themself charged with this crime.
The most common defense to the crime of battery is self-defense, where a person's actions are justified by imminent threat of death or bodily injury. In addition, mutual combat and consent to the battery in question may also be argued.
Often times, an individual is charged with domestic violence battery, a misdemeanor but a field of criminal defense that must be aggressively handled.
See Florida Statues Chapter 784 for more information on the crime and consequences of battery.
Contact Central Florida Criminal Defense Attorney, Ryan Yadav, 24 hours a day 7 days a week, for a free consultation if you have been charged, accused, or under investigation for the crime of battery.