Skip to Content

A felony DUI in Florida may occur in the following situations:

  • Third time DUI within ten (10) years prior from a previous DUI conviction
  • Fourth or greater DUI in one’s life
  • DUI causing serious bodily injury
  • DUI manslaughter

Obviously a felony DUI is far more serious compared to a misdemeanor DUI. Felony DUIs usually require mandatory minimum jail time and in some instances life time driving revocation. That said, a felony DUI in many ways is as defensible as a first time DUI. The State of Florida is as always required to proove that the driver was (1) in actual physical control of a motor vehicle and (2) that the driver’s normal faculties were impaired. A felony DUI requires the appropriate attention of a skilled lawyer due to the severe consequences ranging from financial ruin to loss of your freedom.

Third time DUI within 10 Years of a previous conviction

Third DUI Fine Not less than $2,000, or more than $5,000, $4,000  minimum if the Blood/Breath Alcohol Level is greater than .15

Third DUI Probation May be eligible for as much as 5 years felony probation

Third DUI  JailTime Mandatory 30 days

Third DUI license revocation Mandatory 10 year suspension, may be eligible for hardship license after 2 years

Third DUI Business Purposes Only License  May apply for hardship reinstatement hearing after two years. Must complete DUI school and remain in the DUI supervision program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in the cancellation of the hardship license). Applicant may not have consumed any alcoholic beverage or controlled substance or driven a motor vehicle for 12 months prior to reinstatement.  Mandatory ignition interlock device for two years

Fourth time DUI

Fourth DUI Fine Not less than $2,000,

Fourth DUI Probation May be eligible for as much as 5 years felony probation

Fourth DUI  JailTime Not more than 5 years

Fourth DUI license revocation Lifetime revocation, no hardship